Blog 8

My thoughts about learning in the collective vary and are leaning towards agreeing that I am unsure about it. After spending some time on the Internet, I believe that in theory this a great way to learn and is the way that education will eventually being going. With that being said, I believe I am a part of the pilot program in which education will eventually take hold of.

 

I know that Internet has greatly shaped the way in which I learn. Back in 2008, I was able to do my classes from home. Much in the same way I would be doing it in a traditional class. In those types of classes the teacher did all of the work and I was a sponge for collecting new information. However, the ways in which the classes are delivered via the Internet have greatly changed. I no longer can be a sponge; I am expected to take part in what I am learning. I do believe this method of learning in the collective is much more effective in terms of what I take with me. However, I find it exhausting and time consuming.  

 

Why the change to learn in the collective?  According to the article Learning in the Collective by Douglas Thomas and John Seely Brown, “Embracing change means looking forward to what will come next. It means viewing the future as a set of new possibilities, rather than something that forces us to adjust. It means making the most of living in a world of motion” (43). It is no doubt that technology has allowed us to live in a world of motion and we either need to join in or fall behind. It really is going to move forward with or without us. I know as a an educator I want to be up to times with students so I am not struggling behind all the up to date teachers. I plan to continue with the motion the world has to offer.

 

We are teaching in a world that is moving at increasingly fast pace due to technology. According to Hybrid Pedagogy a digital journal of teaching, learning and technology , “Our ability to produce, consume, and distribute knowledge in an unlimited, unfiltered, and immediate way is the primary reason for the changes we see today.” It is instant and at a click of our fingertips. I agree when technology is working this is an amazing way to learn. However, it doesn’t always work to our advantage. At times I feel myself frustrated with the lack of reliability with the Internet in a small community. However, I love this idea of learning in the collective because teachers no longer have to try to be completely up to date with information, because they will be learning with the students.

 

I hope to eventually being learning in the collective with my own students. I do not believe it will be anytime soon as they have a lot of learning that needs to take place. I also believe that every teacher should be teaching certain technology skills. This class has motivated me to bring forth to my district the idea that we need to be having a technology curriculum. I really believe that in the future we will all be learning in this way because of the educational benefits.

 

Right now I have two issues with this type of learning when doing it via the Internet, which are the lack of reliability and participation. I found myself frustrated and not participating and finding others were not participating. However, it does work and I believe I am on track in terms of trying to stay up to date. We are in an ever-changing world and this is the way in which we are going.

 

David Grandison (2010) points out all the benefits of learning in the collective. He believes that learning in the collective will save school districts money and it can be woven into fit with common core standards while increasing what students learn.

 

Learning in the collective is a must, because it is an environment with a collection of skills, talent, and people that produces an outcome greater than the sum of the people. Learning in the collective is really about learning as much as possible with the given amount of individuals participating.

 

 

Resources

 

Brown, J., & Thomas, D. (2013). Learning in the Collective . Hybrid Pedagogy A Digital Journal of Learning, Teaching, and Technology, April 18th. Retrieved February 26, 2014, from http://www.hybridpedagogy.com/journal/learning-in-the-collective/

 

Grandison, D. (2010). Why Use e-Learning? | The Learning Collective. Why Use e-Learning? | The Learning Collective. Retrieved February 18, 2014, from http://thelearningcollective.net/2010/01/12/e-learning/

Leave a Reply

